News rules by stage · 2026-09-06
Only 39 of 71 prop firms say what their news rule is once you are funded
We read the published rules of every prop firm FirmFax tracks and recorded the news-trading rule at two stages: during the evaluation, and on the funded account. Eighteen firms tighten the rule once the account is funded. Twenty-seven never state both stages at all. The full census is published as a file.
Every row was read from the firm's own pages. Method, limitations and the full dataset are at the foot of the page.
A prop firm evaluation is a test with published rules. The funded account is a second set of rules, and nothing obliges a firm to make them the same. News trading is where that gap does the most damage: a trader spends weeks passing a challenge in which trading through CPI is fine, gets funded, trades through CPI, and finds out the funded account never allowed it.
Nobody had counted how often that happens. So we opened the published rules of all 71 firms FirmFax tracks and recorded two things per firm: the news rule during the evaluation, and the news rule on the funded account.
18 firms tighten it. 21 publish a rule that covers both stages and does not change. Not one firm in 71 loosens the rule once funded — the asymmetry runs one way, which is what you would expect from who is carrying the risk.
And 27 firms, 38% of the set, do not state the rule at both stages at all. That is the largest group, and it is the study's real result. A firm that never publishes its funded-stage news rule is telling a trader to find out by being breached.
The rule tightens at 18 firms
Every firm in this group says so on its own pages; none of it is inference. Funded Futures Network publishes the split as a table, and it is the plainest statement of the problem anyone in the sector has printed: T1 news trading in an evaluation is permitted and "does not blow the account", while the same trade on an Exhibition, Sim-Funded or Live-Funded account means "immediate account liquidation", no appeal, all profits forfeited.
FTMO is the largest firm in the group and is equally direct: "These restrictions apply only once you start trading on an FTMO Account. They do not apply during the Evaluation Process."
| Firm | Evaluation | Funded | What the firm publishes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alpha Capital Group | Unrestricted | 5-min blackout | Unrestricted news trading on every evaluation. On Qualified Analyst accounts no open or close 5 minutes either side of a listed high-impact release; Swing instead requires a trade opened inside a 2-minute window to last longer than 2 minutes. |
| Alpha Futures | Unrestricted | 2-min blackout | "There are no news trading restrictions for any Evaluation Accounts." On Direct, Standard and Zero Qualified accounts no orders within 2 minutes either side of a high-impact release; Advanced Qualified accounts are exempt. |
| Blue Guardian | Unrestricted | 5-min blackout | "We allow news trading on challenge" and "we do not allow news trading on funded accounts" - no opening or closing 5 minutes either side of a red-folder event once funded. |
| BrightFunded | Unrestricted | 5-min blackout | Phase 1 and Phase 2: "you can trade around news events freely, with no restrictions". Funded: trading inside a 10-minute window, 5 minutes either side, is prohibited, with an exemption for trades held 48 hours or longer. |
| E8 Markets | Unrestricted | Not allowed | E8 One and E8 One Crypto: "In the SimFi Challenge stage, you can trade news without any restrictions"; on the Performance account trading is "strictly prohibited" from 5 minutes before to 5 minutes after a high-impact release. E8 Signature and E8 Pro are unrestricted at both stages, which the same page states. |
| FTMO | Unrestricted | 2-min blackout | "While trading during the Evaluation Process, the restriction does not apply regardless of the account type." On an FTMO Account no trade may be opened or closed from 2 minutes before to 2 minutes after selected releases, with Swing accounts exempt. The page says it in as many words: "These restrictions apply only once you start trading on an FTMO Account. They do not apply during the Evaluation Process." |
| Funded Futures Network | Unrestricted | Not allowed | The firm publishes the split as a table. Evaluation, all account types: T1 news trading permitted, "does not blow the account". Exhibition, Sim-Funded and Live-Funded: "NO - immediate account liquidation", with no appeal and all profits forfeited. The trader must be flat from 1 minute before to 1 minute after every T1 event. |
| FundedNext (CFDs) | Unrestricted | 5-min blackout | News trading is allowed in both phases, but only the funded account carries the News Reward Share Rule: inside a 10-minute window, 5 minutes either side of a listed high-impact event, 40% of the profit counts and every loss counts in full. |
| FunderPro Futures | Unrestricted | 2-min blackout | "News trading is allowed during the evaluation phase on all three FunderPro Futures challenge types." Beginner funded accounts disable trading 2 minutes either side of a high-impact event; Mid-Level and Professional funded accounts stay unrestricted. |
| Funding Traders | Unrestricted | 5-min blackout | "News trading is fully permitted during the Challenge phase, with no restrictions in place." Once funded, no more than 30% of total profits may come from trades opened, held or closed inside a 10-minute window around a high-impact release. |
| FundingPips | Unrestricted | 5-min blackout | On Master accounts the profit of any trade opened or closed within 5 minutes either side of a restricted release is deducted in full unless the trade was opened 5 hours or more before the event. FundingPips Zero prohibits holding, opening or closing within 10 minutes either side. |
| FuturesElite | Unrestricted | Restricted | "Tier-1 News trading is allowed during the Evaluation stage." On funded accounts it is no longer a hard breach, but trades taken inside the restricted windows are voided. The policy points at the dashboard calendar rather than publishing the window length. |
| Goat Funded Futures | Unrestricted | 2-min blackout | Evaluation: "no restrictions." Funded: "a 2 minute buffer applies around high impact news events. You cannot open, close, or trigger pending orders within 2 minutes before or after a scheduled release." Positions opened before the window may be held through it. |
| Hola Prime | Unrestricted | 5-min blackout | The rules table marks news trading Allowed in the Challenge Phase for most products and Restricted on Hola Prime (Sim. Funded) for Direct, 2-Step Pro and 2-Step Prime X - no opening, closing or modifying 5 minutes either side of a high-impact release. Prime accounts, 1-Step and 2-Step, are unrestricted at both stages. |
| Instant Funding | Unrestricted | 4-min blackout | Trades within 4 minutes either side of a major release are restricted, and the exemption list names "phases one and two of all challenges" alongside the micro and crypto products and the paid news add-on. The restriction therefore begins at funding. |
| MyFundedFutures | Restricted | Not allowed | A 2-minute no-position buffer around any release applies at every stage. On top of it, Tier 1 events - FOMC, FOMC minutes, the employment report, CPI - are permitted on evaluations and Builder plans and prohibited outright on Rapid Sim Funded and Pro Sim Funded. |
| Top One Futures | Unrestricted | 2-min blackout | "Yes, you are allowed to trade news on your accounts at Top One Futures", with Elite Daily Funded and Elite Access Funded named as the exceptions and "Other account types than the ones listed above do not have a news trading rule." The Elite Daily V2 article is titled "News Trading Rule (funded only)" and states "During the evaluation phase, traders may trade news freely. Once funded, restrictions apply." |
| Top One Trader | Unrestricted | 5-min blackout | "During all challenge phases, you are free to trade during news events without any restrictions. For funded traders, however, it is prohibited to execute or close any trade within the window of 5 minutes before and 5 minutes after a high-impact news event." Trades opened 5 hours or more ahead may have a stop or target triggered inside the window. |
What the funded rule turns into
Where the funded stage is a blackout rather than a ban, the windows cluster the way every other rule in this sector clusters — a handful of round numbers copied between firms.
| Funded blackout, either side of a release | Firms |
|---|---|
| 2 minutes | Alpha Futures, FTMO, FunderPro Futures, Goat Funded Futures, Top One Futures |
| 4 minutes | Instant Funding |
| 5 minutes | Alpha Capital Group, Blue Guardian, BrightFunded, FundedNext (CFDs), Funding Traders, FundingPips, Hola Prime, Top One Trader |
3 of the 18 do not publish a window on the funded side because there is nothing to time: E8 Markets, Funded Futures Network, MyFundedFutures move from a permitted evaluation to a funded account where the trade is barred outright. MyFundedFutures is the sharpest case, because both halves are published in one policy — a 2-minute buffer applies everywhere, and Tier 1 releases are permitted on evaluations and Builder plans while being prohibited on Rapid and Pro Sim Funded.
21 firms run the same rule at both stages
This group is a real finding too, and it splits in half by how confidently a reader can rely on it. 31 firms across the whole census name both stages in as many words — Goat Funded Trader's "this rule applies equally to both the challenge phase and the funded phase", Blue Guardian Futures' "News trading is allowed on both Challenge and Funded Accounts", Topstep's "in SIM or Funded Accounts". 8 firms publish a single unqualified sentence and leave the reader to assume it spans both. We have marked which is which rather than treating them as the same claim.
| Firm | Rule at both stages | Stated how | What the firm publishes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Blue Guardian Futures | Unrestricted | Names both stages | "News trading is allowed on both Challenge and Funded Accounts." |
| Blueberry Funded | 2-min blackout | Names both stages | The operative rule is identical at both stages: no opening or closing 2 minutes either side of a red-folder release on evaluation and earning accounts. |
| DayTraders.com | Unrestricted | One unqualified sentence | The funded-account rules article lists news trading as permitted with a volatility caution rather than a restriction, and links to a market-volatility advisory. Nothing narrows it to one stage, so both read as unrestricted; the firm never says so in those words. |
| Elite Trader Funding | Unrestricted | One unqualified sentence | "ETF does not impose any restrictions or limitations on traders during major economic news events." The sentence is unqualified, so it reads as covering both stages, but no stage is named. |
| Fintokei | Unrestricted | One unqualified sentence | "you can open or close trades before, during or after periods of extreme volatility caused by significant news events." Unqualified, and no stage is named. |
| For Traders | 5-min blackout | One unqualified sentence | Recorded from the page that is live. Futures and crypto products are not named in the rule. |
| Funded Futures Family | Unrestricted | Names both stages | "Trading during news events is permitted across all accounts." Tier 1 events included; the firm records that it removed the earlier requirement to flatten around them. |
| FundedNext Futures | Unrestricted | Names both stages | "FundedNext Futures does not impose any news trading rules", stated for both the Challenge Account and the FundedNext Account. |
| Goat Funded Trader | 5-min blackout | Names both stages | Trades opened or closed within 5 minutes either side of a high-impact release are capped at 1% of account balance in profit, and the page states "this rule applies equally to both the challenge phase and the funded phase of your account." |
| HyroTrader | Restricted | Names both stages | "Solely trading based on news events" sits under additional prohibited actions, and the page's own comparison table marks it identically for the Challenge and the Funded Account. It bans a news-only strategy rather than trading through a release, and no window is published. |
| Lark Funding | Unrestricted | One unqualified sentence | "Yes! We allow trading during news events", with a caution that oversized positions into a release can breach the terms. No stage is named. |
| Lucid Trading | Unrestricted | Names both stages | The article states at the top that it covers "evaluation and funded futures accounts" and then splits by plan rather than by stage: red-folder news on LucidDaily is a hard breach, while Flex, Pro and Direct allow entering or exiting around scheduled and unscheduled news without breach. |
| Lux Trading Firm | Unrestricted | One unqualified sentence | "Self-developed EAs, news trading, and holding trades over the weekend are allowed." Separately, stop-loss adjustments inside 30 seconds of a release are barred and buy/sell stops placed around high-impact news to exploit volatility are prohibited. Neither restriction is stage-scoped. |
| MENT Funding | 3-min blackout | Names both stages | Split by product, not by stage. Futures: "no news lockout on the futures program", stated for the challenge and carried into funding. Forex: no position may be opened within 3 minutes either side of a release, at both stages, though holding through is fine. |
| P1 Futures | Unrestricted | One unqualified sentence | "Yes. News trading is allowed. Normal loss limits, position limits, and prohibited-conduct rules still apply, even during high volatility." No stage named. |
| Phidias | Unrestricted | Names both stages | "Yes, you are authorized to trade during news events on all accounts" and "Economic news trading is permitted on all account types." |
| Sure Leverage Funding | Unrestricted | Names both stages | The 2-Step Challenge rules read "News trading is allowed at all times", stated within a page that covers the challenge and the funded phase. Instant Funding Zero is the firm's documented exception and bars it throughout. |
| The Trading Pit | Not allowed | Names both stages | Stated stage by stage for every product, and identical at both stages in each case. |
| Topstep | Unrestricted | Names both stages | "Topstep doesn't require you to flatten positions during economic releases - in SIM or Funded Accounts." Trades affected by a release are not eligible for exceptions or reset credits, which is a remedy rule rather than a trading restriction. |
| TradeDay | 2-min blackout | One unqualified sentence | "TradeDay will auto-liquidate all open positions 2 minutes before TradeDay's tier 1 economic data releases, and open markets back up to trade 2 minutes after these releases." The rule is enforced at the platform, applies to everyone, and names no stage. We had TradeDay recorded as unrestricted, which has been corrected to a 2-minute blackout. |
| Tradeify | Unrestricted | Names both stages | "We do not have any rules against or guidelines around trading news events." The same article names a rule that is funded-only - over half of trades and profit must come from positions held longer than 10 seconds, and "It does not apply during an evaluation" - so the firm distinguishes the stages where it means to, and does not for news. |
Nobody loosens it
The empty bucket is worth naming. Across 71 firms there is not one that restricts news trading during the evaluation and then permits it once funded. Every published change runs in the direction of the firm's own risk, which is not a scandal — it is simply the shape of the product, and it is the reason a permission granted during a challenge should never be read as a permission that survives it.
27 firms do not say
The largest bucket. These are firms whose own published rules do not answer the question at both stages. Most say nothing about news anywhere we could find it: Bulenox publishes a FAQ heading reading "Can I trade the news?" with no answer beneath it, and FXIFY publishes a question titled "What is the news rule?" whose answer does not render. The question is published. The rule is not.
A smaller group publishes exactly one stage. Take Profit Trader states that PRO accounts must be flat one minute either side of a prohibited news event, and on the same page scopes a different rule to "all account types: Test, PRO, and PRO+" — the firm knows how to name every stage and did not do it for news. OneUp Trader puts its news rule in the Funded Trader Rules and nowhere in the evaluation guidance. T4TCapital is the mirror image: "News trading is fully permitted" sits under evaluations, and the funded section is silent.
Silence is not permission. Where a firm has not published its funded-stage rule, FirmFax resolves the unknown to the strictest thing that firm is documented to publish anywhere, and prints "Not stated" rather than "Allowed". The cost of the other error is a trader's payout.
| Firm | Evaluation | Funded | What we read |
|---|---|---|---|
| 10Four | Not stated | Not stated | No news rule found in the trader funded account agreement or on the pricing pages; the agreement text did not render to a reader. |
| Apex Trader Funding | Not stated | Not stated | The consolidated account-rules page carries no news rule at either stage. The Performance Account rules article on the newer support domain returned 403 and then rendered empty. |
| AquaFunded | Not stated | 5-min blackout | The news article states the funded-account rule - no opening or closing 5 minutes either side of a red-folder release, profits removed - and the rule differs by account purchase date. It never states what applies during the challenge. |
| AudaCity Capital | Not stated | Not stated | The Ability Challenge knowledge-centre page sets out targets, drawdown and payouts and says nothing about news at either stage. |
| BluSky | Not stated | Not stated | The sim-funded account rules cover profit limits, scaling and the route to live and are silent on news at both stages. |
| Bulenox | Not stated | Not stated | The FAQ lists a "Can I trade the news?" heading, but no answer text renders under it and the word does not otherwise appear on the page. |
| City Traders Imperium | Not stated | Not stated | No article mentioning news exists in the help centre index. Third-party write-ups assert an unrestricted policy; none of them is the firm. |
| Crypto Fund Trader | Not stated | Not stated | The evaluation rules bar news-scalping expert advisors under prohibited EA types. That is a rule about automation, not a news-trading rule, and no stage is addressed. |
| Dominion Funding | Not stated | Not stated | The rule varies by challenge model - Swing unrestricted, Standard, Lite and Instant restricted to 5 minutes either side - and the article addresses models, never stages. "It depends on the challenge model you opted in for." |
| Earn2Trade | Not stated | Not stated | The evaluation rules article covers loss limits, position sizing, trading hours and consistency and never mentions news. |
| Falcon Funded | Not stated | Not stated | News trading is sold as a paid add-on scoped to Regular challenges. The FAQ index rendered category headings only, with no answer text, so no stage rule could be read from a firm page. |
| Finotive Funding | Not stated | Not stated | The rules page covers drawdown, volume limits, profitable days, weekend holding and consistency. News is not addressed at either stage. |
| FTUK | Not stated | Not stated | The Trading Rules collection lists 23 articles covering EAs, martingale, stop losses, copy trading, breaches, consistency and inactivity. None of them is about news. |
| Funded Trading Plus | Not stated | Not stated | The hard-rules article lists the three breaches - max drawdown, daily drawdown, symbol loss - and does not mention news. The firm's marketing page on news trading refused every request with HTTP 403. |
| FundedSeat | Not stated | Not stated | No article mentioning news appears anywhere in the help-centre index, including the Trading Rules collection. |
| FXIFY | Not stated | Not stated | The FAQ carries a question titled "What is the news rule?" whose answer does not render to a reader. The question is published; the rule is not. |
| Leeloo Trading | Not stated | Not stated | The support pages set out the 30% daily profit rule, flipping, drawdown and market-close requirements and are silent on news at both stages. |
| Maven Trading | Not stated | Not stated | The day-trading rules page covers prohibited styles and compliance and does not mention news or red-folder events. The 2-minute rule we hold for this firm comes from its terms, which do not name a stage. |
| OANDA Prop Trader | Not stated | Not stated | The official challenge rules state "Trading is prohibited during Economic Calendar events with HIGH impact" without naming a stage or a window. Both help articles the rules link to for the detail - the economic calendar and the news page - returned 404. |
| OneUp Trader | Not stated | Not allowed | "All positions must be closed prior to and during major economic releases" appears in the Funded Trader Rules and nowhere in the evaluation guidance. The firm states the funded rule and leaves the evaluation rule unwritten. |
| PipFarm | Not stated | Not stated | The help centre's eleven collections, including a nine-article Trading rules section, surface no article about news, and the word does not appear on the index. |
| T4TCapital | Unrestricted | Not stated | "News trading is fully permitted" sits in the section governing evaluations. The funded-account section covers risk limits and profit requirements and says nothing about news. |
| Take Profit Trader | Not stated | Not allowed | "All PRO Accounts must be out of all open positions and have no open orders one minute before, during and one minute after any prohibited news event." The same page scopes its counter-positions rule to "all account types: Test, PRO, and PRO+", so the firm knows how to name every stage and did not do it for news. |
| The Legends Trading | Not stated | Not stated | The firm's own site sets out plans, targets and loss limits and does not mention news at either stage. |
| The5ers | Not stated | Not stated | The 2-step plan specification covers targets, loss limits and a consistency rule that applies "only on the Funded account" - proof the page distinguishes stages when it wants to - and never addresses news. |
| Traders Launch | Not stated | Not stated | The published payout rules do not mention news at either stage. |
| UProfit | Not stated | Not stated | The day-account trading parameters cover loss limits, drawdown, inactivity, scaling, trading hours and consistency. News is not addressed at either stage. |
6 firms contradict themselves
This study exists because of one of them. Tradeify's rules overview was read in an earlier pass as asserting a news restriction; its dedicated news article says "We do not have any rules against or guidelines around trading news events." A verifier of ours read the summary, believed it, and wrote a false correction into our data on the strength of it. When we re-read the overview for this census it no longer carries a news line at all — the two pages agree now, but only because the summary changed.
The pattern generalises. FundingPips manages it inside a single page: "During the Evaluation Stage: There are no restrictions on holding trades during news events" sits three lines above "Purposely trading news in both evaluation and master phase is prohibited and will lead to account closure." A trader cannot act on both sentences.
Where two of a firm's pages disagree we have recorded both and taken the dedicated policy page as the authority, because a summary is a description of a rule and a policy page is the rule.
| Firm | The contradiction |
|---|---|
| Blueberry Funded | The article's opening line reads "News trading is not allowed on evaluation and earning accounts", an outright ban. Its own body then sets out a 2-minute blackout either side of a release with a six-hour carve-out - a window, not a ban. Both sentences are on the same page. |
| For Traders | The forbidden-practices page states one flat forex rule - no new trades within 5 minutes either side of a high-impact release - with no stage distinction. The firm's dedicated News Trading article, which our records cite as drawing a challenge/Master split, now returns 404. Two of the firm's own pages therefore describe different rules, and the more specific one has been withdrawn. |
| Funding Traders | The plan article states the split plainly. The firm's General Trading Guidelines article, which reads as the firm-wide rules page, carries no news rule at all - only a warning that size increases around releases will trigger review. |
| FundingPips | Two sentences, three lines apart, on the firm's own news page. "During the Evaluation Stage: There are no restrictions on holding trades during news events. You are free to manage your trades as you see fit." Immediately below: "Purposely trading news in both evaluation and master phase is prohibited and will lead to account closure." A trader cannot act on both. |
| The Trading Pit | Its rules page bars news trading on $100k and $200k CFD accounts "during the Challenge or Earning Phase", permits it on Futures Prime "both in the challenge and in the earning accounts", and restricts Futures Classic at both stages within 2 minutes of a high-impact release. The firm also contradicts itself on Futures Prime: its own launch blog for that product says there is no news trading. We had the firm recorded as blanket unrestricted, which matched only one of its three products; that has been corrected to the strictest rule the record holds. |
| Tradeify | This is the firm whose two pages set this study going. Its rules overview was read in an earlier pass as asserting a news restriction, and a verifier wrote a correction to our data on the strength of it; the dedicated article disclaims any such rule. Re-read on 6 September, the overview no longer carries a news line at all, so the two pages now agree - but only after the summary changed. |
Two of those rows are corrections to us rather than findings about a firm. The Trading Pit publishes a rule stage by stage for each of its three products and we had it recorded as unrestricted, which is true of one product out of three. TradeDay auto-liquidates every open position 2 minutes before its tier 1 releases, and we had that recorded as unrestricted too.
The census turned up eight firms whose stored record told a reader news trading was unrestricted while the firm's own page restricts it, in six cases only once the account is funded. FTMO, Funded Futures Network, Hola Prime and TradeDay were the worst of them, because the permission was stored at firm level and on every plan row, which is what our news-allowed guides read. All eight were corrected on the day this study was published, and the four named above no longer appear on those guides. The correction is recorded here rather than on our rule tape, which stays a record of what firms did, not of what we got wrong.
Limitations
- 5 firms we could not read at all. Breakout, E8 Futures, Funded Crypto Family, FundingTicks, TickTickTrader refused every request to their own rules pages, mostly with an HTTP 403 from a help-centre bot check, or served pages that rendered no content. These are counted separately from "does not say", because we cannot tell the difference between a firm that publishes nothing and a firm whose page we were blocked from reading.
- Some rules vary by product, not by stage. Dominion Funding answers the question with "It depends on the challenge model you opted in for". Lucid Trading bars red-folder news on LucidDaily and permits it on Flex, Pro and Direct, at both stages. MENT Funding runs no news lockout on futures and a 3-minute rule on forex, throughout. A per-stage frame cannot describe those firms and we have not forced it to.
- Some firms have no evaluation stage to compare. Instant and direct-funding products put a trader on a funded account immediately, so there is no earlier rule for the funded rule to differ from. Where a firm sells both kinds, the census records the challenge products.
- The sample is the firms we track, not the sector. 71 firms is a large slice of the market a retail trader actually shops, and it is not a random sample of every prop firm trading. Percentages here describe this set.
- A page is a snapshot. Every row carries the date it was read. Tradeify's overview changed between two of our own passes; there is no reason to think it is the only one that will.
- Absence of a rule on the pages we read is not proof of absence. A firm filed under "does not say" may state the rule in a terms document, a dashboard calendar, or an email we have not seen. What the 27 rows claim is narrower and still worth publishing: a trader reading that firm's own rules pages cannot find out.
Method
For each of the 71 firms FirmFax tracks, we opened the firm's own published rules - a dedicated news-trading policy page where one exists, otherwise the account-rules, help-centre or terms page most likely to carry the rule - and recorded what the rule is during the evaluation and what it is on the funded account. Third-party listings, review sites and coupon aggregators were not accepted as evidence at any point. Every row names the URL read and the date it was read. Where a firm's summary page and its dedicated policy page disagreed, both were recorded and the dedicated page was treated as authoritative. A firm counts as stating both stages only when its own wording covers both; a single unqualified sentence is recorded as covering both but marked as inferred, and those two are never added together without saying so.
The dataset below carries one row per firm — outcome, both stages, the window in minutes where one is published, the note, the URL read and the date. It is the same file this page renders from, so the page and the download cannot disagree.